May 18 2022, MENA Meetup

From IFF Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
MENA Meetups

The monthly meetups bring together folks from the MENA region to share, connect, seek help, and release stress by celebrating each other. In addition, it's a time for us to find ways to support each other, and help us understand what is happening in our part of the world. If you cannot attend the monthly meetups, we are taking notes of each gathering and linking to them below.

The MENA community is connected during the week in different ways. Either through various MENA-focused channels on the IFF Mattermost or via different events organized on various topics during the year.

Date: Wednesday, May 18th

Time: 3pm UTC / 5pm CAT / 11am EDT What time is in my city?

Who: Facilitated by Islam, Rima and Wafaa

Where: The Big Blue Button link will be shared in the Regional:MENA Channel on the IFF Mattermost one or two hours before the start of the meeting.

MENA Meetup: #FreeAlaa

This meeting will focus on brainstorming and mobilizing collective action in solidarity with and in support of Alaa Abdelfattah. Alaa has been on hunger strike since April 2, 2022, and time is of the essence. We will do a community reading of his writings including from You Have Not Yet Been Defeated, identify action points in which you may participate, and discuss any strategic or practical suggestions you may have.